The abuse on Byte needs to end

:bangbang:POSSIBLE TW PLEASE DON’T READ IF YOU ARE IN A VULNERABLE STATE OF MIND:bangbang:

I go by the name of @stinkysteff on byte and over the past few days, I’ve seen a lot of toxic behaviour. It’s beyond upsetting to see… Byte should be a place of acceptance however I am terrified to post because I’m scared of refreshing my page and seeing 4+ comments about how i’m disgusting.

I used to wake up every morning and happily get ready for my next byte, i used to love making content. However, when i open the app now i see nothing but abuse, body shaming and arguments. It makes me fearful of this app.

I’ve been in a really bad state for the past 5 years. At school I was heavily bullied and beaten due to my weight and general style, this forced me into dropping out at just the age of 15 (I’m almost 18 now). As i have no grades or anything, i’ve been doing nothing for the past 2 years. I would just waste away in bed. I was miserable.

This year my mentality has been at an all time low. I would cry myself to sleep every night, my throat would be scratched, my head would pound and my eyes were bloodshot constantly. I felt as if i was going insane, as if my head was about to burst…

During lockdown I saw an advert for byte on Instagram, saying that alt people were welcome etc. I remember feeling my legs tremble. Have I finally found a place where i belonged?
I quickly downloaded it and customised my account, all of the posts were so positive. Everyone was new and friendly. The older Byters were welcoming and helped us understand, I quickly became obsessed with the app. I found something to believe in.