Solving the 3D structure of coronavirus COVID-19 using Cryogenic electron microscopy (CryoEM)

Hello,

Many of you may know me on the Byte app as @wumbologyexpert
I am a chemist, lifter, and beginner pole dancer! As a chemist, I work with peptides and nucleic acids to make bionanomaterials. However, my professional hobby includes various microscopic imaging techniques, electron microscopy among others.

Recently, the coronavirus outbreak has taken a toll on global health, travel, social justice, and economic downturns. What I want to do is shed light on some of the breakthroughs that the scientific community managed to publish with very little public attention despite the virality (no pun intended) of the situation.

I made this PPT presentation in the hopes that I could turn them into short clips that I’d release as a multipart Byte series to show how cool this process is and how very relevant and “simple” cutting-edge science can be. HOWEVER in the last few days, it has been impossible for me to post these Bytes. The app keeps stalling the upload with the message: Slight delay. Retrying soon, for hours and hours.

Instead of spending more days delaying the release, I’d rather just upload the link to the PPT for all to learn.

Please comment/DM me on insta if you have questions/have genuine curiosity! Science communication is more than just a hobby for me, as I really enjoy teaching chemistry and love talking science. Feedback is always welcome!

You need to view the slides with the animations, otherwise nothing is legible!

8 Likes

This seems super interesting! How long have you been a chemist ?

3 Likes

Lol all my life. Jk, but I’m currently in a chemistry PhD program, so not TOO long, but I have been trained on many a microscopy techniques, including the atomic force microscopy and confocal microscopy :slight_smile:

3 Likes