How do i get a job

my moms not any help so im enlisting the millenials to help me, i wanna get a job and im almost 15. how do i even find one? i have some babysitting experience and i would be glad to work in food service like washing dishes or something. (this is so i can save up for a new laptop)

6 Likes

You can go to places and ask for an application, but pretty much every job now will tell you to just apply online. Get a few adults that you know have your back (like a teacher, coach, a family member that isn’t your parent) and ask them if you can use them as a reference.

When I worked at a children’s home I had to help so many kids get a job. Just apply apply apply to a wide variety of places, not just one or two. Food service isn’t the most glamorous but they’re usually open to hiring younger people.

6 Likes

Just apply, usually smaller restaurants/cafes (think mom and pops) will be more likely to hire younger/less experienced people

5 Likes

I think when I applied in high school I just did it online, but a few years ago I got a job as a grocery bagger by just asking for openings when I was at the store lol

3 Likes

My first job was as at an amusement park. It was an awesome job. Got to do a ton of fun stuff, but also got to see that people are stupid.

Now is a pretty awful time to work in Foodservice tbh. Talk to any of your parent’s friends and see if you can intern for them or help out. Look into coding, web development, e-commerce, etc as it’s a lot better than bussing tables or flipping burgers.

4 Likes

I’m 43 and i’m also looking for a job, but it seems like nobody is interested in hiring a 43yrs guy like me…

Thanks recession.

Yeah when Jaurshe says you have to keep applying… you have to apply to a LOT. more than you’d think. You’ll hear back from maybe 10% of the places you apply to. It can be discouraging but that’s the nature of the hustle.