Copyrighted music and content

Hi guys,

Be careful with the music you are using moving forward. Byte beats gang.

Most serious content creators already know this, but just a friendly reminder.

Do not be surprised by this, we knew it was coming.

Relevant byte: https://byte.co/b/GngdLTwVq2t

13 Likes

Im not a copyright expert BUT according to fair use laws you COULD use copyrighted music for your bytes. As longs as it is transformative, and under 20-30% of the original work it should be allowed. Keep in mind tho, that Byte has no say in this and this is up to the court. If the Byte team does receive a DMCA take down they will comply and then you can try to fight it (In a legal sense) So ye, just stay away from stuff you dont own… lol

7 Likes

If possible, I’d love to hear a little more about this from @dom or another byte staff - I have a few clarifying questions. As long as we take down videos upon copyright notice, and don’t fight cases, will we be safe from further legal action (fines, etc)? Should we be deleting old videos that we are concerned about, or wait for a copyright claim on it? Will there be any other options besides deletion in the future, like editing audio on bytes after posting? Is there anything else we should keep in mind going forward, like policies on what content to post or not? I know this is a complicated issue but I’d love any information you can give us so we can follow suit. Thanks!

4 Likes

I’ve been meaning to make a post about this for a while, but I never got around to it. I’ve been wanting to know how Byte or how apps in general like this tend to tackle copyrighted music.

As far as something like YouTube goes, they just straight up automatically detect copyrighted songs and then prevent you from being able to monetize that video. If any company ever strikes a takedown against you, then they’ll automatically side with the company or user, false or not (which they always catch shade for).